thoughts, To-Do list

One thing I know…

I need to work on is CONSISTENCY.

This is something that I struggle with a LOT.

Unfortunately that is a big part of ADHD. It is very easy for me to get distracted, or to simply lose interest.

I want to be more consistent. I want to be able to do what I say, when I say I will do it. I want to achieve my goals!

I have had since what feels like forever a goal to lose weight. That goal has been stagnant for a while now due to stress and anxiety and of course my adhd.

Now that I am starting to get things under control, it is easier for me to see the light at the end of the tunnel. I feel like I am actually moving in the right direction. I became a beachbody coach last year with the hopes of earning a bit of extra cash, but mostly because I wanted to be that person that I saw in my coach. That person that shows up, and pushes through and inspires.

That person, while inside me somewhere, has never actually come out. I have slacked off and let myself make excuses and pushed off starting OVER and OVER and OVER again. This has led me to where I am now.

Unfortunately where I am now is not where I want to be at all. I am not happy. Not active, and not having an easy time managing my binge eating. (Although this last part has gotten better)

I am working on making changes and being consistent, and that is why I picked back up with my blog, because I found before that writing was a really great way for me to release that anxiety that I would build up.

So now comes the fun part. I need to set some sort of fitness goal. I want to get back into good habits, and I think that starts with eating better. I know that when I drank shakeology, I felt better. I was making sure that I was getting in all the vitamins and minerals that I needed (not only through shakeology, of course, I was eating healthier too.) I know that right now my BIGGEST struggle with food is that I am finding that my medicine is surpressing my appetite completely, and so I just kind of forget to eat. That, in turn, leads to me feeling VERY hungry way later in the day. (This is where the cycle really starts) I am hungry, but I am past the point where I am able to handle the hunger feelings, so I begin to get overwhelmed. I go to the kitchen to cook, and look around helplessly, and panic. I start to try to cook something, and wind up feeling like a failure.

That cycle continues until the point where my wife either has to come remove me from the kitchen and finish cooking what I started (if I started something) OR we will wind up ordering something in order to both avoid being overwhelmed. I can imagine its not particularly easy for her to have to come into the kitchen and basically pick me up and carry me out, and then have to help me calm down while cooking something that she has no idea what it is.

I am hoping to get back on track with shakeology and use it as a tool to feel better. Both physically, as I am sure that I will be getting more nutrients in my life, but also mentally, since if I can manage my hunger, my anxiety may be easier to control.

Once I get some consistency there I think it will be easier for me to apply it to other things. My ultimate goal is to get to the point where I feel like a functioning human again. (Although I realize that a) that definition is definitely subjective, and b) That goal will take a VERY long time to achieve if I hold myself to my usual standards.)

Is there anyone else out there who reads my blog who struggles with consistency? Do any of you have any tips? If you do please leave them in the comments! I would love to test them out!

I have a bad habit of trying to take on way too many new habits, (or trying to revive old too many old ones) all at once. I really think that the key to my consistency is going to be taking it in small steps. (This is where I think I will struggle the most) When I start feeling successful (usually within a few days) I start to try to add to it, and push the boundaries. That creates more stress, and things to think about. I am surprisingly good at managing it. The problem is that I am not your typical “adhd” patient… although, I suppose that would fit to all of us.

A lot of folks who have ADHD may be the type to seek instant gratification, that usually is not me. I have accepted that in order to lose weight, and get fit, I need to let the process take the time it needs. BUT, here is where the problem is, I can get consistent and focus for about two weeks, and in that time I can even see great results, (as long as I am truly focused) what I can’t do is overcome obstacles when I am not expecting them.

Say for example, I get a bill that I wasn’t expecting, or I miss an appointment because I didn’t have it written down properly in my planner. That basically throws my whole system out of whack, and I can not handle it. I can handle obstacles that I am able to predict. (I am possibly the master at over planning) Unfortunately, unforseen obstacles are a part of life. This is why I think that I may have an easier time if I take on one small habit. (I just need to try to hold myself back from starting new ones before I am ready.)

Hopefully I am able to update soon with some tips of my own on how to handle all of this, but as I said before, if you have tips, I will gladly take them!  I could really use the advice.

I think that was all that I had to discuss today. I need to get some water and read some in my big packet of articles that we are supposed to read for next term, so that I do not get overwhelmed. (see what I mean by “master over planner”) I know that school does not start for another month, but I am trying to avoid any sort of stress that may come up from being assigned too much to read at once, since I know that I do read slower than others due to my inability to focus (thanks ADHD)

Hope that all is well out there in internet land, and that those who are reading this are having a great day! Here is my final thought for the day:

Consistency

40 thoughts on “One thing I know…”

  1. My son is ADHD so I understand your struggle. What really works for him is structure and being on the swim team. And it seems that every year he ages, it gets a bit better. Hopefully you’re able to lose those pounds!

    Like

  2. We all need to work on consistency to maintain good health and a weight that we are happy with. It is so hard to lose weight but when we don’t buy unhealthy snacks and be intentional about eating right, my husband and I both feel and look better.

    Like

    1. I am working hard on being intentional with my eating, and I have definitely cut back on the amount of unhealthy snacks that come into the house, which has been really helpful! I agree though that I do feel better when eating better! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. My dissertation was on exercise addiction and developing a “positive addiction”, i.e. a good-for-you habit or routine. If you derive pleasure from something, it’s easier to keep doing it. I’ve been jogging now for more than 30 years. Weight loss is difficult, often a lifelong commitment. Are there certain healthy foods that you really enjoy? If so, set out to develop lots of different ways to enjoy that food so you can look forward to it every day. I do wish you luck, but we each have to find our own path.

    Like

    1. There are definitely some healthy foods that I like more than others. This is a REALLY good idea to try to develop recipes around food that I like, instead of trying new recipes in order to like new foods. Thanks for the idea! 🙂

      Like

  4. Being consistent in managing my weight and trying to live a healthy lifestyle is a struggle for me as well. It seems as if I take one step forward and two steps backwards. When I find myself out of balance I try not to beat myself up, take some time to refocus and give myself permission to begin again.

    Like

    1. This is DEFINITELY how I feel. I am so glad that I am not alone. Sometimes its easy to feel alone when we struggle. I hope that you will achieve your goals, and thank you for sharing how you keep moving forward! 🙂

      Like

  5. My son has selective ADHD, i.e, he can concentrate really well on things he wants to, but those things are really few. As I didn’t want him to be on any medication, I opted for behavior modification methods and breathing exercises. The breathing exercises helped him learn techniques to consciously let everything go, relax and try to concentrate again just on the task in hand. He fidgets less and can complete his task with lesser distraction periods. If meditation is too much for you, you can try some calming and focusing breathing exercises as I have seen improvement in my son’s ability to finish tasks using this…hope it helps.

    Like

    1. Part of why I am on medication is because after discussing with my doctor we felt that I need the medicine in order for behavior modification to be even a little bit effective. I am working on trying to learn to relax. Thats a word that I have a VERY hard time with. Thanks for the advice, I am going to try to look up different breathing exercises to see if maybe they can help. 🙂

      Like

  6. I totally struggle with this too! I have a really short attention span (I have what my grandma calls “monkey brains”) and I find it’s really hard for me to stick with something once I start. I jump from thing to thing and have a difficult time actually following through with some things, so I totally get your struggle! I haven’t really found a way to deal with this yet… Always working on it!

    Like

    1. I am glad to know that I am not alone. Sometimes when we struggle its easy to become isolated. I love the term “monkey brains”

      There were a few people who have left comments on this post who had some tips that I will try, but I think the most important thing will be for me to continue showing up here on the blog and being honest with how things are going! Hopefully you are able to find something that can help you as well! If I come up with something I will definitely share it here! 🙂

      Like

  7. I do struggle with consistency as well but I blaim it on being tired to be honest. I seem to lose my concentration quite often and get distracted by doing other things. However, I am following a no sugar diet at the moment which I really don’t want to give up. I am almost halfway through and I really want to finish it so I try to keep strong.

    Like

    1. Keep going! You can do it! Do you feel a difference with the no sugar? I’ve been suggested to try going no sugar before, but never really even knew where to start with it, since nearly everything we eat has some sort of sugar.

      I believe in you! I hope that you make it the rest of the way and that you find what you are looking for at the end of the process! 🙂

      Like

  8. My brother was like this as a teenager. He would binge eat, but couldn’t keep on the weight do to metabolism. The binge eating made him sick. He ended up taking protein powder to gain weight and control his hunger. He now has to write things out each day to stay focused and it has helped him immensely.

    Like

    1. Writing things out DEFINITELY has helped me. This is part of why I became a planner girl! I am working on getting more consistent with that as well, since well, consistency is not a strong point in any area of my life. I hope that he is doing better now!

      Like

  9. I have worked with kids who have ADHD and I see the struggle that it is for them when they aren’t medicated. However, I have also seen the way they are when they are heavily medicated. It is a constant struggle for these children. But when they do get the chance to focus they excel greatly in what they have set there minds too.

    Like

    1. I think that the challenge with ADHD is finding the exact right medicine as well as dosing. Many people need medicine, while others can function with some simple mindfulness. It depends on the person. For me, without my medication, I have a VERY rough day. I am hopeful that soon I will be able to build habits that help with consistency. 🙂

      Like

  10. Girl let me tell you! I am currently struggling with consistency in my life as well. Very specifically with healthy habits: maintaining a good diet and exercise. It’s so hard especially when I have to do a lot of other things. I just want to go for the easy way out you know?

    Like

    1. Definitely know what you mean there! I think that is just a bad habit. Its so easy to go and get fast food, or a candy bar, rather than sit down and eat a sallad. Someone else left a comment here on the thread that I am definitely going to take to heart, and that was meal prepping. I know that it worked for me really well before, so hopefully I am able to get started again, and push forward so that I can build at least some good habits! 🙂

      I think it will help that since posting this, I asked some good friends to help hold me accountable. My friends don’t take crap from me, and they know how badly I want this, so if I get off track they are going to push me to start again.

      If you don’t have a friend like that or just want a new friend, feel free to add me as a friend, and I would be happy to help you stay on track! 🙂

      Like

  11. My son has adhd and I can relate to a lot of what you said. For me, I’ve found meal planning and prep really helpful. On Sunday afternoons I make some chicken, beef, and cut up veggies to have in the fridge. Through the week, I know I can put together a healthy meal without a lot of prep or planning. x

    Like

    1. I was able to keep up with meal planning for about two weeks before, but I definitely think that it is something I need to bring in to my life again. It made a huge difference, as I knew I always had food ready if I just popped it in the microwave or in a pot on the stove. Thanks for reminding me of how great of a habit it is, and how helpful it can be in times of stress. 🙂

      Like

  12. One thing I know is that I need to try and lose weight too! My youngest has barely slept in the last 18 months and I find myself reaching for late night snacks when I’m over-tired to help me get through the night. The trouble with that is I’ve put on a LOT of weight, and I’m struggling to find the energy to move very far in the day to get rid of it. I can’t wait for him to start sleeping properly again!!

    Louise x

    Like

    1. Oh goodness. A baby is definitely a huge change in lifestyle. I don’t have children yet, so I don’t fully know what that is like, but I can imagine that with a little one awake at all hours of the night, late night snacking is really the only way to get through! I can say that for me something that has helped me get moving during the day is my fitness band! It pushes me, and allows me to connect with friends who can encourage me to keep moving. Even if it is just walking around my house.

      I hope that he will start to sleep well for you again soon! If you need encouragement you can always add me as a friend! I know I may not understand #momlife but I can understand the struggle with low energy! I am sending good thoughts and vibes your way! You can achieve this, and I hope you will find a system that works for you and your little one! ❤

      Like

  13. I was never diagnosed with ADHD but I related to this on a level that was SHOCKING. hahaha! I feel you on so many of your points. I hope you find your methods that work best for you! I know you can do it!

    Like

    1. I think that the struggle of consistency is something that a lot of people can relate to. I think that a lot of times our busy lives can distract us, its just a bit different if you have ADHD. I hope that you are able to find what helps you manage as well! 🙂

      Thanks for the encouragement!

      Like

    1. I try my best to keep going as well. I definitely know that struggle. I think you have a good system of going week by week. A lot of times I feel like I try to think too far ahead.

      I wish you all the luck with your journey! 🙂

      Like

  14. You’re doing a nice job just putting yourself out there and taking the step of being held accountable by people you trust in your life. I was reading and thinking maybe I don’t have ADHD but I sure can relate to the struggles. Concentration, focus, being scattered…for me, all those have gotten so much worse with age (and kids!) Being overly stressed and way too busy does not help, and I’m always wondering if I had much less on my plate to do, how much more effective I would be at the things that really matter 🌸

    Like

    1. I think you have it right that concentration and focus are not strictly a problem for people with ADHD. It definitely depends on how our life is running, I think that with ADHD it just is harder to manage life so it feels scattered from the beginning (like before kids, and ageing) but this feeling is definitely not exclusive!

      I wish that life would allow us a way to do the things that matter, without having to rush to do the things that are required. That would be the dream!

      Hopefully you are able to find some ways to destress, and take a little off your plate, so that you can get that time to focus on what matters! 🙂

      Like

  15. I could not relate to and agree more with this post. I am not a very consistent person and as a mom, I lack the consistency of getting my little on down at the right times for naps, feeding times and his schedule is all crazy because I do not have a schedule myself.

    Like

    1. Based on the comments, it feels like a lot of us feel this way! So you and I are definitely not alone! I think that my biggest tip for you at the moment, is that you should try to get a planner.

      There are many free options, you can just use any paper and pen you have, and try to plan your ideal day. Obviously every day will never be ideal, but to have a rough outline of the day REALLY is a huge help for me. (As long as I remember to check it)

      Like

    1. I totally agree! A lot of times I just feel overwhelmed with everything that needs to get done! But we have to just keep pushing forward every day! 🙂

      Like

  16. Very interesting story. Me too, I struggle with my weight a lot and sometimes it can be a lot, But i keep on going and trying. I get inspiration from my child to get my goals and dreams in life. We need to stay focus of those we want to do.

    Like

    1. I agree that its important to stay focused on what we want to do! That is a huge reason why I wrote this post, so that I would have something to look back on, and refocus when I get distracted!

      I think its great that your child can inspire you as well! I don’t have a child, but I use the idea of having a child as motivation. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

